A Day in the Life of a Newborn.

Since I am writing this when he is almost 6 months old, I’ve decided to roll newborn and 1 month all into one. How long can you stare at the computer thinking about what to write?? There is so much running through my head with this one, I don’t even know when to start.

Newborns are alot of work. We felt like we were ready for a baby and somewhat prepared for what was to come. We had no clue. NO CLUE. I don’t think anyone can be completely prepared. I think we were walking zombies for the first, at least, 6 weeks and just were in a daze. Breastfeeding…now that could be a another post just on it’s own. I really think that is what was more exhausting than anything else. I’ll get into that more later. With all that being said…..it was still one the most amazing and special times in Logan and I’s life.

                  IMG_0903 IMG_0904

I had put a lot of pressure on myself to be successful with breastfeeding, and still do. I know that I create a lot of my own anxiety and stress over it, but it is just something that I feel strongly about. It was not easy for us, and we spent many hours at the lactation clinic. Some of this may have been due to the fact that Noah was 3 weeks early and had a difficult time latching. I know that this created the majority of my overwhelmed feelings that I had in the beginning. It was just really hard. Some people I know have no issues and it goes great. That is wonderful, and I hope that with our next babies that’s how it will be for us. I am so thankful for the lactation clinic! I 100% believe that our lactation consultant is how we made it through. I felt like we were seeing her so much I actually missed her when things got better! Since I am writing this after several months have passed I am happy to say we are at 5 1/2 months of solely breastfeeding with no supplementing! I know that I am way too hard on myself, but I feel so good that we persevered and stuck with it!

                                           IMG_1261 IMG_1260

Noah all swaddled up in his crib ( he didn’t actually sleep in it until months later)! I love this picture of him in green. I’ve already forgot how small our little babe was.

IMG_0848

This was moments after coming home from the hospital. As soon as we laid Noah down sadie immediately went and laid right beside him. It was very comforting, since we had hoped she would take to Noah well. We love our little Tater Tot!!

IMG_0852IMG_0853IMG_0855

Alot of naps were taken with dad! Newborn snuggles are the best, you couldn’t wake him up even if you tried!

IMG_0958 IMG_0849

IMG_1285 IMG_1289 IMG_1284

Wow. It’s crazy to look at how small he was in his car seat, the strap was as big as his head! The picture on the right was Noah and I’s first time out of the house by ourselves! We went to starbucks and to daddy’s office. I remember being so nervous!

IMG_1265 IMG_1591

It looks like our sweet little guy is praying 🙂

IMG_1551

Noah and Sutton. They were hanging out at mommy and baby yoga!

IMG_1295

What you talkin’ bout Willis?

There is nothing quite like that first month at home with your new baby. Such a challenging yet incredible time in our lives. They grow and change so fast, I can already see that. My goal is to enjoy each stage we are in, good or bad, to the fullest because it will not last long…

ONE MONTH.

IMG_0977 IMG_0976

He really hates it when I lay him down to take these pictures! HA!

One Month Stats: He weighs 6 lbs 9 oz (17%), is 20.7 in long (82%), and has a head circumference of 34.5 cm (24%)

We have been going to the pediatrician every week so far to get weight checks.  We’ve got him past his birth weight now though so that was a huge relief!

IMG_1089 IMG_1105 IMG_1113 IMG_1179

We have a one month old. AAAHHHH!

IMG_1374 IMG_1414 IMG_1545 IMG_1440

I loved letting Noah snuggle up on me for naps. Even when I was uncomfortable, hot, and felt like I couldn’t move…it was still the best feeling in the world. 🙂

IMG_1645 IMG_1603

Someone started handing out a whole lot of smiles this month! I love how Sadie snuck into the picture on the left!

IMG_1611

Noah loved this. So did we! It helped entertain him in those early days to give mom and dad a few minutes to get other things done.

IMG_1659 IMG_1650

He just cracks me up.

IMG_1000 IMG_1004

IMG_1501

IMG_1596

Typical boy. 😉

IMG_1542

What a stud!

New Tricks: Lots of smiles, he is not rolling over as much, lots of poops and potties!

Favorite Things: Bustier by medela hands free pumping bra. This is a top favorite for sure! It seems like I am pumping my life away at times, so this at least allows me to have free hands! I also am liking lilypadz a lot, instead of the traditional nursing pads. We love the Halo velcro swaddle blankets, aden and anais blankets, mitten onesies (he wears these all the time), snap front onesies, the boppy, and the tommy tippee adapter for my medela pump.

Noah is still sleeping in the pack and play next to our bed. He is only waking up to eat and goes back to sleep right away, so I can’t complain. He does not like to have a wet diaper! We almost always know when he has peed because he will get fussy and then is perfectly fine after we change him. His pediatrician has put him on baby zantac for acid reflux. I took him in because he was sounding wheezy and had a dry cough. She said that the cough was a common symptom of reflux. After 7-10 days of being on the medicine his cough went away, so it is helping! He should grow out of this and we hope to have him off the medicine by 6 months or so. Everyone comments on how strong Noah is. He may be small but he is a tough little guy!

IMG_1473

“Okay mom, No more pictures please!”

Categories: family, Noah | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

