Foodie Baby: 9 Months.

Our little foodie baby has an opinion this month. He doesn’t seem to love everything anymore (darnit!). He has become a bit more finicky on what he is eating, still a good eater though. He may gobble something up one week then look at me like a crazy person for trying to feed it to him the next week then eat it again a few days later. He seems to have a few staples that he always likes but his dislikes are in a rotation it seems.

I still use the same basic method for making his food that I wrote about here. He is still eating mostly all purees. I have been trying a few finger foods here and there with just whatever we have available around the house. The purees are easiest for us right now because I can make sure he is getting as many calories as he will take. He is a small % for weight and the doc always mentions he needs more calories (AHHH stresses me out!). I honestly feel like he is just where he needs to be, just will never be a chunky baby. Sorry for the tangent!

I have started giving him puffs this month. I really like the organic plum brand. We have the “greens” one right now but plan to try the other flavors too.

IMG_0100

Noah LOVES them! After about a week of giving them to him, he has gotten really good at picking them up and putting them in his mouth. I have also tried giving him chunks of avocado, pears and banana. He struggles with picking them up because they are so slippery but if I put them in his mouth he eats them just fine.

I am a vegetarian who borderlines vegan with a lot of our cooking at home. I don’t plan on giving Noah any meat or dairy for the time being. I’ll try to write a separate post on this soon. So I’ve been researching and trying new foods!  I have also starting mixing foods together more.

Breakfast:

Oatmeal with breast milk. If he is having problems with pooping ( did I really just type out pooping?) I add in an ounce of organic prune juice, it always helps him. I’ve also started giving him organic plain coconut milk yogurt mixed with pureed blueberries.

IMG_0099

We just tried this recently and we Noah Loves it. Logan and I decided Coconut milk yogurt taste like a pina colada! Yumm!

IMG_0078

Lunch:

He will usually eat a mixture of fruit for lunch. He likes apples (with or without cinnamon), mangos, pears, peaches ( he is off and on with these), bananas and avocado. Today it is carrots and apples!

IMG_0098

Dinner:

I have been trying to mix more foods together. One of our usuals lately is a cube of peas, black beans, and a few cubes of sweet potatoes or butternut squash. He always loves sweet potatoes with cinnamon mixed in.

“This better not be plain peas, mom!”

IMG_2960

I’m not sure when I will stop giving him purees. I’m not in a huge hurry to be done with them completely, but I am going to try to give him more finger foods or little bits of what we are eating. I’m sure it will get messy interesting real fun! 🙂

Thank you to http://www.ahealthysliceoflife.com/ for munchkin meals. This is my first time linking up!

Categories: foodie baby, Noah | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Foodie Baby: 9 Months.

  1. He is just adorable! My son used to eat everything then right around 10/11 months started getting a little pickier. Now at almost 2 is much pickier but goes in stages. Some days he likes a food another day he doesn’t. It’s amazing how their little appetites change so much as they grow!

  2. I will try some of those ideas with Jonah. The coconut milk yogurt sounds good. Do you remember how many cubes he was eating around 6-7 months? I am giving Jonah one at breakfast and two for lunch and dinner. He usually seem full towards the end, so I think that is good. Just curious 🙂

    • I think 1-2 cubes sounds about right. It was probably between 7-8 months that I started giving him more. Now I always make 4 cubes and usually end up making another 1-2 at dinner. If he is still happily opening for me I just keep making more. The most he’s had I think is 7 cubes and that was just once. I just start off with less because there have been a few times he hasn’t wanted much at all. He has a mind all his own 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

