Foodie Baby: 10 Months.

Today we are linking up with a healthy slice of life. Thanks for hosting munchkin meals!

This month we have transitioned to mostly finger foods with the addition of purees occasionally.

Breakfast is usually Noah’s favorite meal. He always finishes what I give him plus seconds!

Breakfast usuals:

Oatmeal with pureed berries or fruit and coconut milk yogurt

Toast with sunbutter and diced fruit

Doesn’t everyones breakfast taste better with your foot up?!? This goofball thinks so.

IMG_0736

Our lunches and dinners have been more of a challenge. I struggle with what to feed him! There may be a week here or there where I may not cook as much and I am not okay with giving him everything we are eating. Anything I cook I am more than happy to share with him, but if we eat out I am not okay with sharing just yet. I know at some point I will not be able to control what he eats, but for now I want to feed him vegetarian, no dairy and organic whole foods as much as I can. This can be limiting for sure.

So we’ve had to go trial and error this month. Noah is not having just plain steamed veggies, with the exception of peas. The boy likes flavor! Can you blame him?? So anything I’ve made for Logan and I, Noah has eaten it right up! Anything simple and easy…goes from his tray straight to the floor, or he tucks it right under his bottom in his chair. Sneaky fellow he is.

Lunch and dinners (that Noah approved of) have included:

pasta

peas

roasted carrots

roasted sweet potatoes with coconut oil and cinnamon

sweet BBQ baked beans

lentil sloppy joes with and without bread

watermelon, strawberries, blueberries, cantaloupe are all in a regular rotation

The boy could live on watermelon

IMG_0779 IMG_1053 IMG_1071

He now has the sippy cup down really well!

IMG_1012

In a pinch we still pull out the purees too. Sometimes he will eat them well and other times he is OVER them. Seriously it all changes about every other day, which makes it hard to know what to feed him.

So he is eating 3 full meals a day and nursing every 4 hours or so.

I did start giving him green smoothies this month. That was fun! He drank it out of his sippy at first but not much. So i ended up spoon feeding the rest to him. He loved it though! I love the idea of the green smoothies because he has become much pickier since we started finger foods ( I can’t sneak the broccoli in, like I could with purees!). He picks around what he likes and doesn’t. Sooo when he fills up on watermelon and strawberries I feel better knowing I got some greens in him!

I’ve kept the recipe pretty simple for him so far:

spinach, a ripe banana, kiwi (if I have it), chai seeds, almond milk, and frozen berries.

IMG_1046

“I mustache you…Can I have more smoothie?!”

haha..lame I know but I couldn’t help myself. šŸ™‚

IMG_1052

Categories: foodie baby, Noah | Tags: , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Foodie Baby: 10 Months.

  1. Oh man get ready for the daily food changes! I have a 5 and 3 year old and that’s just how they’ve always been. Some days they eat a whole plate of broccoli. The next day it’s “yucky”. Ha! He is SO cute and you offer him such a variety!

  2. Oh my goooooodness, his eyes!! Gorgeous. And I love all his healthy eats, almost as much as I love his little foot on the table. Aren’t babies so bendy? Too cute. Thank you for linking up!

  3. We’re veggie in our family, but I love reading vegan ideas for the little guys because I like the variety (and not relying on dairy)…. I’m going to have to find a lentil sloppy joe recipe. That sounds good!

  4. I’ve been wanting to try lentil sloppy joes for a while – I will have to make them and hope that my picky boy will like it too! Noah is adorable!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

