Thanksgiving 2013.

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving this year. There is so much to be thankful for! We had a busy couple of days and made our way to 3 Thanksgivings. Thanksgiving morning was pretty relaxing at our house. Noah and Logan played while I finished up some last minute food prep and got everything in the oven. This year I made 2 sweet potato casseroles and a green bean casserole. Side note: I had no idea how easy green bean casserole is, you just throw it all together!

We headed out to our first Thanksgiving at noon at my grandparents house (my dad’s parent’s). They have not been “home” for Thanksgiving in YEARS. They always migrate south to Texas for the winters. My grandpa had open heart surgery recently though, and so they are still home, for now. It was nice to celebrate and be with them this year!

IMG_6434

Missing Matt and Kaden in this picture (my pregnant sisters hubby and son!) She looks a little lonely in the middle 😦

IMG_6442

We ate so much and completely stuffed ourselves-we still had one more that day to go!

Noah had a pretty big tumble into a door (eeek he hit it HARD!) and left a goose egg on his head the rest of the day. Luckily it ended up only being a scab by the next day, much better than I thought it would be.

He was fascinated with the flash on my camera though 🙂

Don’t mind all the drool…

IMG_6407 IMG_6408 IMG_6409 IMG_6411

After my grandparents we dropped some stuff off at home (let Noah nap in the car) packed our bags and headed out to Logan’s dad’s house. Their Thanksgiving was at 5, we were late (oops!), and we ate again. Noah was so excited to see his cousins and played with them all evening. He is at such a great age and loves to try and keep up with older kiddos. They are both really great with him too.

IMG_6496

Noah hanging out with his papa!

IMG_6499

After relaxing for a bit we took the annual Christmas card photo for Logan’s parents. Last year we took it in our P.J’s and so they wanted to do the same this year as well. After deleting the 1,000,000 photo because someone’s eyes were closed, we were left with 4. This one all the kids were looking straight ahead. So I call that a win.

IMG_6476

So I feel the need to explain my husband’s crazy locks of love covering half of his face. He started (randomly) growing out his beard in September. I think it was one of those things that he didn’t plan to do in the beginning but it just happen. Then it got to be November and had to make it through “no shave November”, right? I mean why not, he’d already gone a month and a half. Needless to say by Thanksgiving it was OUT. OF. CONTROL. This picture really speaks for itself. He shaved it off 3 days later on December 1st, and I now feel like I have a new husband!

We all woke up the next morning drank coffee and chit chatted. I love the mornings we all wake up together there.

Then we went back home unloaded the car and got ready for our 3rd Thanksgiving at Logan’s mom’s house on Friday. She had set up for a photographer to come and get a family photo and some of the grandkids. I think they turned out well. Noah wasn’t too happy, but that seems to be his track record for when we get any professional pictures done. The last 2 times we have had to wake him up from naps. I wouldn’t be happy about that either! I know my mother in law has the proofs, so I hope to post a few pics soon.

Instead of the traditional meal (since we all ate it so much the day before) they had made up several different kinds of chili and potato soup. It was delicious!

Noah and his cousin Nixon coloring.

IMG_6501 IMG_6505 IMG_6506 IMG_6507 IMG_6508 IMG_6509

All 3 grandkids had been sitting with their Poppy toad while watching planes, but wouldn’t you know as soon as I pull out my camera they all dart off!

IMG_6511

We had one of the best Thanksgivings! We got to spend a lot of time with some of the people we love the most!

Categories: family, Thanksgiving | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

