Leo’s Birth Story {Part 1}

36 Weeks 6 days.

Just another Tuesday with the boys. We had some friends over for a playdate which is always fun, and Chipotle for lunch. Double WIN. 🙂 I’d been feeling uncomfortable but that was pretty standard these days, and I’d been on my feet most the day wrangling kiddos. That night after the boys went to bed, Logan and I sat down to relax on the couch. I noticed and even mentioned to him that I was having a lot of braxton hicks contractions, but I didn’t really think too much of it. I’d been having braxton hicks since my 2nd trimester and they’d been coming more frequently.

Back-up a week to my 36 week check-up: I was dilated to a 2.5, which i’ve never really dilated to even a 1 prior to going into labor.

Wednesday, August 10th {37 Weeks}

12:30 am I woke up and realized I was still having “braxton hicks”. They continued to come as I was still laying in bed and it didn’t take me long to realize I wasn’t going to be able to go back to sleep. I woke up Logan to tell him “So this probably isn’t labor but I keep having contractions and can’t sleep, I’m going to go sit in the living room and order everything else we still need on amazon.” HA! Even though I wasn’t rushing off to the hospital yet…I knew. After a couple hours of still having contractions I decided to go ahead and pack up our bags and shower. I called my mom around 3:30/4 and told her I needed her to come over and stay with the boys. Around 4am my contractions really picked up. My contractions tend to go from slightly uncomfortable to extremely intense with no real in between. They were coming every 1-2 minutes and lasting at least 1 minute each time, some lasting so long they just kind of rolled into the next contraction with no rest in between. We loaded up as soon as my mom got here and headed to the hospital. It was 5:30 when we got checked in. This part is all such a blur because I was in so much pain, I’m not even sure I ever opened my eyes. They got me checked and I was dilated to a 6-7. They started hooking up my IV so I could get my epidural. Please get me my epidural! Seriously, once I get that going it’s such a different experience for me, and it is what I prefer. I felt like a normal person again and could actually use words again instead of the other weird noises I’d been making!

The epidural slowed my progress down quite a bit (I didn’t care, I couldn’t feel anything ;)) and I stayed at an 8 for quite some time. This turned out to be such a blessing because around this time they found out I had tested positive for the group B strep test the week before. So thankfully I was able to get in both rounds of antibiotics before delivery. If you don’t know what the strep test is, it’s completely normal and 60% of women test positive for it. However it requires antibiotics prior to delivery to help protect the baby.

I was excited to have a visit from my OB. He hasn’t been able to deliver any of my other babies and I was hopeful that he’d be available this time, and he was. YAY!

and finally…I was dilated to a 10.

It was time to meet this baby boy.

The nurses had everything prepped and ready to go. My OB came in, followed by a couple more nurses and a resident. After just a handful of pushes, he was here.

The nurse wiped him off just a bit (he was covered in vernix!) and then laid him on my chest. Such a surreal feeling when you meet your child for the first time. We stared at him and had conversations of who’s features he shared. He reminded me so much of his biggest brother, Noah, but with his own sweet little look as well.

After an hour of skin-to-skin and lots of staring at him in “aw”, we were anxious to get him weighed.

6 lbs 9 oz

20 inches long

long fingers and toes and the perfect amount of  blonde peach fuzz on his head.

IMG_1980-2

I put together a video of his arrival, that I just can’t stop watching. click here to watch.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Leo’s Birth Story {Part 1}

  1. Emily

    I love the song on the video! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

